Obituary: Lish Askew

It took several years, but I finally found the obituary of my paternal grandfather published in The Atlanta Constitution on April 30, 1971.

In my mind, I imagined a grand affair attended by tons of family and friends.  However, this announcement depicts a very small and private affair held in the chapel of the funeral home.

Preserving Black History via findagrave.com

It’s been five years since I last visited my birthplace/hometown of Atlanta, Georgia.  I have never been to South View Cemetery, and I have no idea where my grandfather’s grave is.

via Google Maps

The Ivey Brother’s Funeral Home was established in 1912.  In 1994, it was purchased by Carl M. Williams, who in 1975 was a mortuary student of the funeral home.  Since 1995 it’s been known as Carl M. Williams Funeral Directors, Inc.  Ref:  carlmwilliams.com

Leave a comment