In Loving Memory of…

 

The loss of my father has been an absolutely devastating blow.  My hero is gone, and so is my motivation to continue this journey.

The child that still dwells within me wanted to believe that Dad would live forever.  Even though I saw him weak, bedridden, and helpless.  I still wanted to believe that by some miracle, Dad would get up out of that hospice bed and walk.  He wanted to do it, so badly.

Dad knew his life was coming to an end, and he took it like a champ.  He was sad, but he was brave.  He continued to worry more about others than himself, and always tried to do the right thing even when death was staring him in the face.

Those that knew him, always talked about how much of a computer whiz he was.  He was more than that.  He was funny.  He was fair.  He was uber-intelligent.  He was not afraid to own his mistakes and faults.  He asked really deep questions.  He loved sci fi, comic books, Star Wars, and Star Trek.  He was an avid reader.  He was an excellent provider.  He enjoyed Vermouth.  He loved to reminisce, and I loved listening to him do it.  We were alike in SO many ways.

Before he left this world, I got the chance to give him tons of forehead kisses, sing some old Motown tunes with him, and tell him repeatedly that he will ALWAYS be my hero.  We had deep conversations up until he slipped into a coma-like state, and I am so grateful for that.  He believed wholeheartedly that there was something on the other side of death.  I hope he found out what that something was, and is having the time of his life with it!

I miss you, Dad.

This post is dedicated to:
Mr. Christopher L. Askew
1948-2023

Leave a comment